our people

Matthew Mark

Senior Partner – Business Development


Get to know

Matt is an accomplished governance, executive and strategic leader with a rich tapestry of experience spanning notable organisations and senior positions across finance, banking, public, and the private sector.

Throughout his career, Matt has demonstrated a commitment to driving positive impact through transformative initiatives that prioritise people and foster long-term sustainable change.

Matt isn’t just a visionary, he’s also down-to-earth and practical. Adept at envisioning and articulating a compelling future for an organisation, Matt’s approach ensures that lofty goals translate into tangible actions. A strategic thinker, implementer and enabler – Matt turns strategic vision into reality.

A natural people person who is values driven, Matt is a positive communicator who is attentive to client needs while also having the right attitude and approach to question the status quo, drive change and nurture innovation.

Armed with a wealth of knowledge and experience, Matt is your go-to partner for navigating today’s unique challenges and seizing unprecedented opportunities in the market. Collaborating with your team as a transparent and inclusive partner, with a laser focus on achieving unparalleled success.

Prior to joining Decipher Group, Matt’s most recent roles included CEO of Christchurch City Mission and Ronald McDonald House South Island. Now, he’s ready to bring his expertise to the table and be a catalyst for positive change in your organisation.


Areas of expertise

  • Governance best-practice
  • People leadership
  • Strategic business development
  • Management, Executive and Governance recruitment

Tertiary qualifications

General Management, 2013
– University of Otago

Governance summary

Aspiring Youth Development Trust
Trustee (2015 – Present)

Canterbury Police
Advisory Specialist (2020 – 2022)

Canterbury Employers’ Chamber of Commerce
Board Member (2019 – 2022)

Christchurch City Council
Social Services Advisory Committee Member (2018 – 2022)